How to update permissions and workflows when you have staff who retire, leave, or transition to a new role.
Employee turnover and transitions can be frustrating. Employee that are promoted, retire, or leave for other reasons leave a gap that requires training a new person to fill the role, shuffling personnel, or even refining your processes. Whatever the reason for the change, you just want to ensure that things run smoothly. If you need to remove or modify someone’s TES access in the process, here are a few things to consider.
1. Were they involved in evaluation workflow tasks?
If your transitioning employee was involved in the creation of evaluation tasks, they will still be considered the creator of those tasks. Once completed, all tasks are routed back to their creators. If you know that this employee is transitioning beforehand, make sure they reach out to users they have assigned tasks to so those can be completed before they leave if possible. Any left behind will need to be completed by someone with both Administrator and Evaluation Tracker rights. (Note that this does not make them the creator; it just allows them to complete that creator’s tasks as an administrator.)
If the transitioning employee has only been assigned tasks, a TES Administrator can batch reassign those tasks to a different user.
If you are removing the user’s access to evaluation tracker, it will also cause them to be removed from the search filters in TES. So make sure you address these issues before you remove access.
2. Did the transitioning employee own any course list reports?
If your transitioning employee was the owner of any course list reports, you will need to transfer ownership of these reports to a new active user. If the user is deactivated before these reports are transferred, others may loose access if they are shared reports.
If you are simply removing the user’s access to course list reports, it will also cause the reports to be hidden. Make sure you transfer ownership of any lists you want to keep before you remove the access.
3. Did the employee build and create equivalencies?
Not to worry, those equivalencies are safe. Equivalencies that have been created won’t disappear and the equivalency log files will still show all their activity, even after a user is deactivated or deleted.
If you missed any of these steps when an employee transitioned out of your office, just let us know. We may be able to grant access to those tasks and reports to another active user. Of course, it’s best to follow these guidelines to make sure no work is lost.